The next 10 rules for writing with CFS (CFS/ME)

Rules 11-20 I live by.

*** I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR YOUR CONSEQUENCES *** YOU DON’T HAVE TO READ THEM ***

Like physical laws, like gravity, especially, these laws are immutable.

Finding my laws – and exploiting them for MY benefit, is how I survive. Which I do, erratically. The first 10 rules are here.

I want to write. I am very grumpy when I can’t write.

11.    I cannot evade the consequences of having done so.

12.    I am consciously trying to find the implementation that allows me to make the best choices, aware that life is imperfect, and the best choices are often not available to me.

13.    Stress – of any kind – loses functionality. The loss is directly proportional to the stress, but exponential, not linear.

14.    My personal limit seems to be to leave the house no more than three times a week for a fully functional existence. It is very limiting, and it is a difficult limit to enforce. I often have to make an exception to not miss my yoga class; I always pay for the exception.

15.    If I leave the house, on one of those trips I may stop and do a short shopping stop: more than 15 minutes, and/or without the walker, and we are done – I must leave.

16.    I can’t eat sugar or refined carbohydrates very often; if I do so, it will take four days – no exceptions – to get them out of my system. Every couple of days I may choose to do the Drs. Heller’s method of eating ONE balanced meal a day with some carbs and staying within a strict limit of ONE hour from start to finish. If I do this only a couple of times/week, exactly as they describe, I minimize its effects. Minimize, not evade – but c’mon guys, sometimes you gotta have birthday cake.

17.    If necessary, I carry Atkins bars, and can have up to a couple a day. These are for true emergencies – and are sometimes what keeps me from going off the deep end, the illusion of a candybar, some chocolate and peanut. They are good for a meal-on-the-run, but if I’m on one of those, we are already compromised, and I know it. Sometimes they are the only thing that gets me home safely when I have to drive. I WILL pay for it.

18.    The BEST solution to leaving the house is to get into bed the minute I get back. I’m very bad at it, because by that point I’m living on fumes, and I make very bad decisions on fumes.

19.    No matter how many times I beat myself up about it, no matter how many times I fail to do the right things, I don’t seem to be able to do this perfectly.

20.    I’ve been collecting some of the above data for the entire 23 years I’ve been sick. Some of it ‘clicked’ but recently – I have a bit more time to observe myself right now.

More rules to come.

3 thoughts on “The next 10 rules for writing with CFS (CFS/ME)

  1. Alice Audrey

    I know how important it is to not overextend yourself. I frequently have to turn people down when they expect me to load up my schedule for them. Only for me the consequence is merely that I miss appointment and get a little tired. No big deal most of the time.

    Like

    Reply

Comments welcome and valued. Thanks!

