Revising a scene is driven by my need for novelty

It just occurred to me that I NEED novelty every day – why else would I go surfing the web, looking for someone, anyone, to say something new and interesting?

What am I searching for when I surf? Novelty.

I’m looking for the perfect post to read:

it will give me information I can immediately use in my writing – such as a unique tip to make the current scene feel less flat.

it will be entertaining, long enough to engage my analytical neurons, but not so long as to be mind-numbing.

it will gently guide me back to my own WIP with an idea I can try immediately.

it will be from an authoritative source I have already learned to trust.

it will make me immediately add the tip to my store of writing tips because I simply can’t afford to lose it.

Or, lately, it will add one more thing I MUST learn about so that when I finish Pride’s Children, and I’m ready to market, I will be PREPARED and ready to go.

Few posts do that.

In other words, I am looking for the post or article that justifies my spending time looking for it! And I get it just often enough to reinforce the surfing pattern – though I will freely admit I didn’t need the information then and there – would have come on it later – and it wasn’t so important that I should have spent time looking for it, when there was no certainty of finding it (and it could have waited until evening or break or …). It wasn’t necessary NOW.

The trick is to find a way to satisfy that strong need for NOVELTY when revising/editing/re-visioning the current scene. It has to come from within, or I am never going to get that particular scene finished.

I already know what goes into the scene. I already know approximately who says what. I have a rough draft – action/plot/characters/theme.

It’s not boredom, per se, with my own writing. It is overcoming the PERCEPTION that revision will be boring.

Because once I get into the scene revision for the day, I am NOT bored.

I am looking, essentially, for the answer to the question: Why should any reader read this? And why is the scene not done yet?

Oddly enough, once I find that novelty, it isn’t that difficult to finish the structure and finish the scene. The process takes over, and the steps I’ve worked out for myself seem to kick in.

I realize now that earlier drafts are ‘What?’ versions:

What happens?

What does A say to B, or B to K?

What goes after what in the time sequence?

What does the pov character think?

And what I’m looking for is the WTF! part of the story, the purpose of this scene in the book, the heart of the scene, the reason I chose THIS pov character to run the scene through, the part that changes irreversibly.

Yes, in each and every scene.

I’ve learned well from my teachers, the writing books I refer to or the tips I have stored in files from writers and bloggers far more experienced than I am.

And until I find it, I pull my hair, I run around in circles, I run through lists of questions, I surf the Net.

It IS part of the process. And I am not allowed to skip it.

I’d really rather read my own writing, when it finally works, as egotistical as that sounds. But I have to write it first.

Comments welcome and valued. Thanks!

