READERS: the drug of choice

Yesterday someone left a trace on my blog: he or she read ALL of Pride’s Children posted to date, and a huge number of my other posts.

I am on top of the world. Squee!

Even though my mystery guest left no comments.

How I know

We can tell, we WordPress bloggers, because the statistics page shows how many pages were viewed on any given day, and lists which pages and how many views each one had.

Kind of like footprints in the mud.

Every blogger who pays attention sees patterns. When the stats show a larger-than-average number of hits, we can usually look to a particularly well-received post – or a controversial one – depending on the comments.

It’s fun and provides the feedback a writer lives on before sales. How did I do with that last blog post? There’s the answer: twice as many views, and a few extra comments. Huh. Must have hit a nerve.

Yesterday? Every page of Pride’s Children – and many more pages than usual – had a hit.

Doing to others

I do the same to other blogs when I find someone whose writing sings to me: I want to read as much as I can. Since I’m a writer, it seems natural to leave a few words. But pure readers, the non-writer kind, are often shy, and don’t comment.

That is perfectly fine – comments are much appreciated, but not required at all. I have a collection of online friends I wouldn’t have met if I didn’t blog – reason enough for doing it.

And I know from experience that even the Like button sometimes doesn’t work for me (browser issues?) on sites where I would love to click it, so don’t mind at all when someone comes, reads, and vanishes.

Consequences

But if you’re dropping by, and you’re reading, you must know: it makes me happy.

My long-time readers, who read each scene when it comes out, make me VERY happy.

Be careful, though – it also encourages me – which means more of the same to come. Or, it is fervently hoped, better.

Have a wonderful day – you made mine.

Whether you leave a comment or not.

15 thoughts on “READERS: the drug of choice

  1. Maryann Miller (@maryannwrites)

    Good morning. I’m one of those who reads often but comments infrequently. I should be better about that, especially as you are so kind to comment on my blog so often. If you have a moment, stop by again as my guest, Scott had a question for you. It appears you are both Firefly fans. Hope the MRI turned out okay.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

      No apology EVER needed. It just floored me that someone seemed to read the whole thing in one day – Pride’s Children is NOT short. And my blog posts tend to be over 1000 words.

      I do the same thing when I find people’s blogs I like – I went way back in yours. I think I’m starved for reading material because I am not allowing myself too much fiction right now. If I read late at night – the best time – my will power has been used up for the day, and I can find myself holding my eyes open with toothpicks at 3 am – and of course the next two or three writing days are shot. Sigh.

      When I’m finished with each volume, I’m going on an ORGY of reading EVERYTHING.

      And yet I still managed to read 50 books last year somehow. Hmmm.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

      Thanks. It just boggled my mind – we’re not talking small commitment here (if actual reading occurred – he/she could have been checking out my navigation links to see if they worked). I just love me shiny data.

      Once one is published, as you are, things go to the next level. I hope to follow you on the path.

      Like

      Reply
      1. J.M. Ney-Grimm

        Oh, I’m sure you’ll climb right up. You’ve got the goods! 😀

        The tricky bit for me is that positive feedback is indeed addictive! I keep wanting MORE.

        When I first started blogging, I received around 100 page views per month. When I I reached an average of 20 page views per day, I was thrilled. I remain happy about my blog traffic…but the thrill has worn off.

        When I saw my first evidence that an actual, real reader had read my novel, I was thrilled again. When I received my first glowing review…more thrill.

        Then the first RAVINGLY positive review arrived…thrilly thrills. It’s all good. In fact, it’s all GREAT! But the thrills wear off sooner, and then I’m longing for the next one. And I’m always wanting MORE sales. 😉 Time to revisit gratitude for what I have!

        Like

        Reply
        1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

          I save the nice comments in a file in the Scrivener project – and sometimes, before I start writing for the day, when I need a little kick, I read them.

          Then I smile, and get to work. That’s how I get thrills many times from kind words. Like yours.

          It reminds me to write more – someone is waiting. Thanks!

          Like

    1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

      Be careful starting – I aim to be addictive, and one or two people have said they got pulled in for longer than they had planned. Besides, you’ll get a copy as a present when it’s published – for being a faithful reader on my blog.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

    So much easier to keep nose to grindstone – writers don’t need a lot, but it is very nice. (PS: NOT a request for more – your continued presence alone is noted and appreciated.)

    Aargh! There is no way to do this, is there?

    Like

    Reply
  3. The DC

    Nor am I (surprised),not in the least my friend,you always have wonderful words that whisks one away to another time and place 😀

    Like

    Reply

Comments welcome and valued. Thanks!

