Misattribution

Reblogged: from Tanteros

Me: And when I gave up my dream job just as I was finally settling in to it, it was on purpose?
Wrong!

tanteros

When it comes to other people, we tend to attribute causes to internal factors such as personality characteristics and ignore or minimize external variables. Psychologists refer to this tendency as the fundamental attribution error; even though situational variables are very likely present, we automatically attribute the cause to internal characteristics.

Misattribution
To whom it concerns:

When I gave up my job,
it was because I wanted to be a lady of leisure,
spend all my savings
and then beg for hand outs to keep a roof over my head
to malinger and scrounge to my hearts content.
Wrong!

When I stopped going on holiday,
it was because I lost my sense of adventure and
preferred the comfort and safety of my own back garden.
Wrong again!

When the lure of listening to live music, shouting ‘more’,
giggling at the worst plays ever,
or meandering through art galleries
with tea and…

View original post 205 more words

2 thoughts on “Misattribution

  1. Belinda

    Dear Alicia, I found your blog through a comment you left on Dave Hingsburger’s blog–and I have now put this blog in my bloglist! I thank you for your lovely poem and for introducing me to the fundamental misattribution error, which I had not heard of, not having formally studied psychology. One of my favourite books is, “Mistakes Were Made but Not by Me,” by CarolTavris and Elliot Aronson and I realize that book is based on this principle!

    I am a writer, and look forward to learning from your writing posts. So glad I found you!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

      I love Dave’s blog – read it first every day.

      Welcome! It’s funny – Misattribution is not mine – I just added my tiny bit – but it is SO true.

      I do try to own my mistakes – I’ll check out the book. (At least deep in my heart I own them!)

      Like

      Reply

Comments welcome and valued. Thanks!

