Added PRIDE’S CHILDREN – Chapter 16, Scene 1

This week’s post begins Chapter 16, with Scene 1 (1.16.1).

Fall has fallen on NJ, though we’re still supposed to get some very warm days for our annual Indian Summer. The days are already too short – I’ve had to dig out the Daylight light-therapy light to keep the depression tendencies at bay.

I had the furnace on!

And I have to make the commitment NOT to eat carbs, and to get up at dawn so as to get the maximum number of hours of daylight. I’m working on it – I have what is called Delayed Sleep Phase Syndrome, and my normal bedtime is  after 2am, which doesn’t go well with getting up at 6 or 7am to write. The things we go through!

The To Do list is full. Really. No more. There is no space for whatever it is you want me to do. Uh uh.

She fought the impulse to shred the unopened missive, to reduce it to a powder so fine it could be used, without further processing, as raw material for toilet paper. Consequences, Kary. - Kary Ashe, Pride's Children, Chapter 16

Thanks to ProWriteAid for the quote software.

The end of Book 1 is staring me in the face: I know how it ends. I made it end that way. And I’m still worried about it. I think that’s standard.

PRIDE’S CHILDREN Table of Contents

~ ~ ~

PRIDE’S CHILDREN, Chapter 16, Scene 1  [Kary]


Copyright by Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt 2013-2014.

3 thoughts on “Added PRIDE’S CHILDREN – Chapter 16, Scene 1

  1. juliabarrett

    Good luck with the no carb thing. Can be useful. I’m determined not to use the furnace until November 15th at the earliest!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

      You live in California!

      It’s always best to check that the furnace works BEFORE you really need it – so I’m glad it came on; today’s high is 78 or so – we bounce around a lot – so I made sure the chinchilla’s AC brought the temperature under 70. I had already turned it off – but we get the warmer times randomly.

      Having a cinchilla has saved us a lot of energy – we routinely keep the house much cooler in the winter, and use a few more clothes. Of course, she coincided with most of the kids leaving home; I heat just my little office if my nose is frozen. In the summer we get free AC from the solar panels. Can’t believe we’ve had them ten years now. Everyone else has $300 electric bills, or worse, in the summer – we pay $3 for electricity. Feels good. I think we’re past the payback period, but DH took my records, and hasn’t returned them (in years) so I can’t actually calculate.

      Like

      Reply

Comments welcome and valued. Thanks!

