Added PRIDE’S CHILDREN – Chapter 16, Scene 5

This week’s post finishes Chapter 16, with Scene 5 (1.16.5).

I’ve been reading Lisa Cron’s Wired for Story – and finding all kinds of insights. Sometimes it helps to throw a new writing book at a story in progress – to get a different perspective. Now, while I’m working to make the end of Book 1 as good as I possibly can make it, it was a welcome hand-holding.

It also confirms that I’m not way off track from where I want to be – phew! We writer-people live in our heads. Reader-people are kind, and sometimes TOO kind. Readers become friends, and start softening things just the tiniest bit – so you hope to get a few more fresh eyes on the project.

Going on Wattpad is giving me new friends (drat!), and occasional new people who say they have no clue what I’m trying to do. Have found new nuggets in those comments, and appreciate all the feedback, ever, from anywhere. Once things go live, you ARE putting yourself in stocks (get it? ‘in stock’?) – where people may decide to throw rotten tomatoes AFTER it’s harder to fix things. I would rather make stock (will she never stop?) BEFORE I have to, and serve good soup up.

And now, to relieve you of the foolishness that seems to have invaded, I give you Andrew – leaving Kary’s for the last time.

PRIDE’S CHILDREN Table of Contents

~ ~ ~

PRIDE’S CHILDREN, Chapter 16, Scene 5  [Andrew]

Thanks to Quozio for the quote software.


Copyright by Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt 2013-2014.

2 thoughts on “Added PRIDE’S CHILDREN – Chapter 16, Scene 5

  1. Alice Audrey

    Your as punny as I am. 😉

    I don’t really look for either critique or complements from my blog readers. When I first started posting Suzie’s House I kind of expected both. Sometimes I got them, but mostly people were just being nice. Still, some innocuous comment left by a regular reader will sometimes send the story careening off in odd directions. The current Emma arc is a direct result of comments made about a year ago. I just couldn’t let it go.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

      I think beginning writers who aren’t sure of their direction and skills DO want critique (even if they think what they want is praise, to stick with this writing thing). But when you’ve been at it as long as we have, though there are changes, what there is more of is the satisfied audience we hope to create.

      You ARE writing a true serial – that has different rules. I’m glad you got a chance to do the Emma arc, but I’m sure you wouldn’t have, if it hadn’t fit into your plan somewhere. After all, your name is on it when it’s finished – can’t get away from that.

      I’m enjoying the differences between our approaches and goals. They make me think.

      Like

      Reply

Comments welcome and valued. Thanks!

