Unexpected writing gifts: blocked internet time

*

Are people blogging less?

I am aware that over the past month or so my blog posting has gone down in frequency, to the point where I’ve basically been putting up a post every Tuesday with a bit of a chat and the next scene in Pride’s Children, and nothing more.

Part of it is simply end-of-the-year-itis: there were a lot of things to do, many more than usual, including a trip to California to welcome a wonderful young lady into the family and celebrate with her and eldest son and lots of family. Add Christmas and New Year’s to that, and I defy you to continue exactly as usual.

But it’s been more than that. I notice far fewer posts on the blogs I follow, and far fewer comments, and wonder if the day of blogging is somehow taking its natural turn in the evolution of online communication: all things come to an end and are replaced by other things. Which begs the question: What will the new thing be?

What’s next?

There are podcasts and video blogs – I doubt I will be joining that revolution. For better or worse, I am of the print generation.

And as a raging aggressive introvert: ain’t gonna happen.

I do plan to try my hand at audiobooks – and give the weary world the ‘read by the author’ version of Pride’s Children. Why? Because I’m a ham.

But I’ve missed posting my thoughts and the things I figure out about my writing and my own observations of the world we live in. Heck, I’ve missed gathering the herd of wild sheep that IS my thoughts, and making it go into the corral one thought-sheep at a time in a line.

So I intend to do better, and spew forth more of whatever it is shiny that attracts my attention.

The unexpected gift of the day: blocked internet time

This morning’s gift was a 15-min. chunk of time in which my internet was not available, my morning B1 and caffeine haven’t kicked in yet, and in which, rather than get started on today’s writing (Pride’s Children, Book 1, isn’t going to finish revising itself), my brain decided to write about writing – and throw the results up for the world to see (‘marveling at’ is optional) JUST because I can. You don’t have to read – that’s the marvelous part – and I don’t have to do it, but we can if we want to, and I find that entrancing.

I can’t say what length will be natural for this Year of Our Lord 2015 – I suspect the pieces may be shorter – but I’m raring to go, looking forward to the end of the revising, and the work of finishing up and posting the first book of the trilogy, and exercising and eating right (okay, better) and reading and blogging and… whatever 2015 holds in store.

And that was how I chose to use my present this morning.

How about you?

*Thanks to Quozio.com for the quote software.

15 thoughts on “Unexpected writing gifts: blocked internet time

  1. naleta

    One thought about intermittent posting from an intermittent reader. I use Feedly to corral the posts from the blogs that I follow, so I only come to the site when there’s a new post. I don’t have to visit every site every day, and still don’t miss words from folks that I like to read. FYI, even with lighter posting by many folks, there are still more new words out there every day that I’d like to read, but can’t keep up with.

    You, however, are one who I always make time for (eventually, lol).

    Like

    Reply
    1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

      I will check into Feedly. But I’m always looking for more content.

      Maybe it’s because I’ve exhausted many subjects in writing and publishing that I now barely skim because I know most of the basic stuff.

      But the biggest part is that I can read in a few minutes what it took someone a lot of time to write. It’s always been that way.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting – and the tip, Naleta.

      Like

      Reply
      1. naleta

        I agree about being able to read in minutes what took hours to writ. I suppose my problem is that I’m interested in too many things, lol.

        Like

        Reply
  2. J.M. Ney-Grimm

    I don’t follow many blogs, so I’m in no position to pronounce on the state of the blogosphere. But I’ll do some pronouncing anyway. 😉

    I gather that a decade ago (or so), blogging was all the rage for writers. Their agents were urging them onward: “You must blog in order to connect with your readers and sell books!” So every writer who could manage it dove into blogging.

    In 2011, I began to see a lot of people saying: “Blogging doesn’t sell books. Blog if you like it and want to. Otherwise don’t bother.”

    Now it seems to be established that blogging, indeed, does not sell books. Even the authors who were the last to get into blogging – and are also the last to get the word that blogging is no longer “necessary” – are posting less often.

    I suppose it’s like any other bubble: vast numbers jump in, the bubble pops, and then only those who genuinely like it (or have found a way to make it profitable) continue.

    The other thing I’ve heard is that the average length of a blog is three years. So whether the blogosphere is contracting or not, specific blogs one follows might be hitting their 3 year mark and folding.

    A few months ago, I was mulling over whether I would continue blogging or not. I believe I mentioned it in the comments of one of your posts. 😀 I *do* enjoy blogging and want to continue, but I was finding the straight jacket of “post every Friday” to be uncomfortable. So I decided to be more lossey-goosey about it. That seems to be working for me. Many weeks I *do* put up a “Friday” post (sometimes Thursday night, a few times over the holidays on Wednesday). When I know I don’t “have” to post, I often find I *want* to post.

    But it feels great to know I have the freedom to skip a week when I feel like it. And it feels great to have the freedom to post “lighter” material when I want to: a New Year’s greeting, a paperback release announcement, a cover reveal.

    I’ve noticed that Lindsay Buroker is irregular with posting. She’ll put up one per week for a while. Then skip three weeks. Then put up two in a week. And Kris Rusch stopped blogging for, what, a year. And now is blogging irregularly and when she feels like it. I’m aiming to follow in their footsteps.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

      Hehe. This means that if I’m canny and careful, I can have the blogosphere all to myself! Ha! Now, what do I want to read and write?

      Everything feels as if it will last forever (blue rays?). And then is doesn’t.

      What constantly amazes me is that we shrug – and adapt. Humans are incredible.

      Like

      Reply
  3. juliabarrett

    Podcasts will replace blogging, for a time. Most people don’t have the time and money to dedicate to a podcast, but it will be the next big thing. Yes, blogging has sort of run its course. Pity and yet not such a pity. 😉

    Like

    Reply
    1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

      Podcasts are lazy. And usually full of fillers.

      No thanks. I can’t skim to find the content, so, unless I’m stuck in a car with nothing else to do (I usually take a nap – IF I’m not driving), I won’t listen to radio – or podcasts.

      Video has to be enormously entertaining, and more, disproportionately, as it gets long. If I click on a news link, and a video starts playing, and there is no transcript right below, I immediately close that browser tab. No way – they are not stealing MY time for ads, lead-ins, garbage, station identifiers, announcers for 5 min. to give me 20 seconds of content.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Cynthia Reyes

    An interesting post indeed.
    December seems a natural for fewer blogs — so much to do to prepare for Christmas.
    It seems that a number of the most interesting bloggers also entered Nanowrimo, which means November was a slower month for blogging too. And then there’s life.
    But you raise great questions about the possible decline of blogging. Fact is, it takes work and commitment. Not just commitment to write, but to truly read all the blogs one follows. As the number I follow increases, I find it takes a lot of time to read every post. Yet, visiting those blogs is one of the ways I stay connected to a bigger world.
    i’m glad you will keep blogging in 2015. My best wishes for a rewarding and healthy new year.

    Like

    Reply

Comments welcome and valued. Thanks!

