Added PRIDE’S CHILDREN – Chapter 19, Scene 2

This week’s post continues Chapter 19 (1.19.2).

The coughing is less – but not yet gone. Still there – much less intensity. It is COLD today in NJ (and don’t laugh at me, those of you who live on the Great Lakes or in Canada or Finland or Minnesota or…). Well below freezing – everything that got rained on is icing up.

Some of the brainpower is returning, but I’m still losing most of the afternoon, and all the evening, but I don’t care because I’m writing in the mornings.

NJ is NOT covered in snow – the last forecast was a total dud, at least in our neighborhood (we’re at the notch in NJ’s left side, and the rain/ice/snow line moves around a LOT).

Once I got into Chapter 20, the last chapter, I found that I could breathe again, which is good – if nothing else happens, I can probably keep posting a scene a week until I write ‘To be continued’ and take a bit of a breather to get this properly finished and out on Amazon. Wheee!

Never fear – I know what happens next.

I think. OTOH…

Just kidding. The advantage of being an extreme plotter/Dramatica plotter is that I don’t know exactly how we’re going, but I do know exactly where. And I can relax and enjoy/sweat the writing. It halves the problems. Sort of. I still wrestle with the terminology, and the other plotting pieces, and all of the writing parts EVERY SCENE. Which is as it should be – that’s my job.

Thanks for reading along, those of you who have been. And, it won’t be long, those of you who have wanted to wait until you were sure this newbie writer was actually going to finish Book 1. Unfortunately, if you’re waiting for the whole thing, well, I’m faster now, but it’s going to be a while. But I STILL know where we’re going (hope that isn’t in the category of ‘famous last words’).

I haven’t been able to write much of anything part of the time recently, so I’m delighted to announce that this post came out of the fingertips with relative ease. Phew! Was wondering if I’d lost it.

PRIDE’S CHILDREN Table of Contents

~ ~ ~

PRIDE’S CHILDREN, Chapter 19, Scene 2  [Andrew]

Thanks to Quozio for the quote software.


Copyright by Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt 2013-2015.

7 thoughts on “Added PRIDE’S CHILDREN – Chapter 19, Scene 2

  1. J.M. Ney-Grimm

    Congrats that you’re in the last chapter! I’m one of the waiting readers, because I want to read volume one all at once over a few days, rather than episodically, once per week.

    Phew! Was wondering if I’d lost it.

    Hah! That was how I was feeling today about WIP. I’d managed to get into the flow last week, but today I felt like I was sawing wood with a dull blade. No flow at all. And this is the story that I originally thought would be a 20,000 – 30,000 word novella. My current slow pace combined with the expansion of the story (when I realized I couldn’t tell it properly at the novella length) is…challenging. Let go of worrying about completion, J.M., and just write today.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

      Thanks, J.M. – it is good to get encouragement from friends online who know what it’s really like.

      The advantage of working in scenes is that I have a long string of successes – after working on a chunk of the story – to remind me I can do this. At least as well (you do learn something as you write more) as I’ve done before to convey a story. It isn’t all-or-nothing. It is like putting one more square on the pile, ready to be joined into the quilt.

      Like

      Reply
    2. Lily White LeFevre

      I glommed them all last summer when my baby was born and we had lots of reading/feeding time. It’s worth the wait to have in full! I got hooked and have been antsy every monday evening since that SOMEONE sticks to her schedule rather than posting early 🙂

      PS – who is the uncle whose hand stephen is holding?

      Like

      Reply
      1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

        SOMEBODY is writing as fast as she can. I am only a couple of scenes ahead – but I’ll make sure you get everything the minute I finish book 1 – rather than make you wait until I post it – fair?

        The uncle is Tad – a whole 8 years old, and Stephen’s mother Susan’s half-brother. They are very close – before they all went to Kary’s, they had been visiting Dr. Renton, Amanda, and Tad in Princeton.

        Like

        Reply
        1. Lily White LeFevre

          I wonder if that phrasing is a bit too cute? I at least, spent 30 seconds searching for a memory of a previously referenced uncle. Maybe a modifier like “pint-sized uncle” would help make it more immmediately obvious to readers like me? Or maybe the point was to be not obvious bc the relationship is odd. I knew (still know) people who have an aunt/uncle that functions as a cousin but it’s still jarring lol

          RE cometed draft – yes, that is our previously agreed upon deal 🙂

          Like

    1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

      It’s so easy, Julia. You go to Quozio.com, put your quote in the little box, flip through the styles, copy the image – and paste it to your blog, where you can resize it.

      And all they ask for is a Facebook Like.

      Like

      Reply

Comments welcome and valued. Thanks!

