Added PRIDE’S CHILDREN – Chapter 19, Scene 4

This week’s post finishes Chapter 19 (1.19.4).

Writing is hard, close to the end, because there are so many things to not forget, but at least I cannot be accused of wasting time cleaning house! Apparently, some writers find the necessity of cleaning the whole house from top to bottom makes it impossible to finish manuscripts.

More snow tonight; not as much as Boston is getting, but I can’t remember when I left the house last. Now that DH has the snowblower, he doesn’t need me to help, and it’s done in a quarter of the time it used to take the two of us. Or less. Yay, industrial revolution.

Same request as last week: please let me know if this scene is too much.

PRIDE’S CHILDREN Table of Contents

~ ~ ~

PRIDE’S CHILDREN, Chapter 19, Scene 4  [Andrew]

Thanks to Quozio for the quote software.


Copyright by Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt 2013-2015.

7 thoughts on “Added PRIDE’S CHILDREN – Chapter 19, Scene 4

  1. Lily White LeFevre

    Re the scene. A couple rough edges, jarring jumps, maybe? Can’t articulate it right now. Will let you know when i get the full if coming in with the momentum of having just read everything before it helps. Also, andrew really didn’t ask WTF charles was trying to sue over? Nosy Rosiethat he is 🙂

    Like

    Reply
      1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

        Thanks, Lily. When something takes as long as some of these do, and has as many things packed in, I need outside eyes.

        I appreciate the comments from a writer’s perspective – and there will be final polishes when I get to the very end. Almost there for this one.

        Glad it wasn’t too much – I hate melodrama.

        Like

        Reply
    1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

      Not sick, just evidence of more energy than I have.

      I would PREFER to live in a tidy, clean house. Tidy is possible only in my office – so, when I have the extra energy, I tidy my office: you can tell how the energy level is going by whether I can afford to pick up the few things on the floor and the desk.

      The two people I live with are not tidy – and I don’t have the energy to tidy them or make a big deal about it, so I ignore it. Not optimum, and setting horrible standards for the lady of the house, but reality. If I worry about all the things in life I have no control over – like the pipes that froze last night – I get no sleep (like last night). Then no writing – AND it doesn’t really help the pipes. (They are better now, thanks for asking, and a tiny drip will keep them unfrozen while we are in single digits.)

      Choices. As soon as the promised tidying up occurs, I can get other people in to clean. Thursday I have another session with a nice young man who is helping me get the basement under control – last week I had same, and had to take a nap in the middle of our four hours. Fortunately, we were well started by that point, and he got a lot done – which I count as me dejunking while I was asleep: neat trick.

      I dream of tidy.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. J.M. Ney-Grimm

        The two people I live with are not tidy…

        The three people I live with are not tidy either. In fact, one of them is a true strewer par excellence. She literally leaves a wake of clutter as she moves through any space. I wouldn’t have believed it possible, if I hadn’t lived with her.

        I am not able to be philosophical about it. I do spend long intervals ignoring it. Then it gets to me and I have an unattractive temper tantrum. Which I regret, because I do love all three of these people with all my heart, even though their mess bothers me.

        I used to clean up after everyone. When it was just one untidy person, that wasn’t much of a problem. I didn’t like it, but I could keep the house clean and tidy, and still see to my own projects and priorities.

        When the kids were little, it still was relatively easy to stay on top of tidiness and have a life other than cleaning up after others. Because the mess of little ones was really just my mess as I cared for them. So I cleaned and tidied as I went.

        Now…well, now it is not possible to clean up after three other messy folk. The health challenges of the last few years mean I have less energy. My writing career means I have more of my own projects that matter a lot. And now that the kids are 12, they create far more mess than when they were little. Extravagant mess, even. Plus they are far more resistant to my requests that they clean up – the true strewer more so than the merely organizationally challenged one.

        I still have hopes for future tidiness. And ideas for how to get there. Not the extreme tidiness of my single days. But i don’t need that kind of tidiness, even though I enjoy it. Just a moderate tidiness with some rough edges here and there – appropriate for a family with most members not neat freaks. 😀 We shall see.

        Like

        Reply
        1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

          My sympathies. Messiness seems to be a genetic trait. When the kids were home (and last one now), I have had to resort to letting them live that way – behind their closed doors.

          I would prefer otherwise – and I can’t make it so. I don’t do tantrums. I take my revenge, such as it is, when people come. There may be a comment or two about it not being mine… The worst DOES get cleaned up BY the culprits if we have guests, so they know they are not ready for prime time.

          Honestly, when I’m dead and buried, what will it matter? But I long to live in my own tiny house by myself, with strictly the necessaries in reach. And if things work out, I may insist on getting that to happen.

          I blame my mother: her standards were very high – but she had maids, and they cleaned up when we left for school, even though it was supposedly our job. Mother was the one left at home – and she had plenty of energy, besides.

          Like

Comments welcome and valued. Thanks!

