Added PRIDE’S CHILDREN – Chapter 20, Scene 2

This week’s post continues the last chapter of Book 1, Chapter 20, with Scene 2 (1.20.2).

Winter is hanging on, into March.

I took the car to the shop this afternoon, and drove back hours later in falling snow and slush on the roads and everyone in NJ driving very carefully. It makes everyone’s commute longer.

It seems these days everything keeps me from writing, and yet, the writing continues. Carefully selecting and editing and thinking ahead to the next part, while closing this one down, makes for a lot of time to do each of these last scenes in Book 1.

The writing demands to be followed to the bitter end of where the Muse is taking it; I just go along for the ride. I can’t make it deviate an iota from where it wants to go.

I think that is good.

I am now working with no buffer. Sacrifices of goats welcome. If I can just stay no less healthy than I am normally. Colds are circulating everywhere, in this household and my assistants and the grocery store and church…

Pride is a sin for a reason, so I’m not going to worry if I can’t post each week – worry gets in the way of writing. I can’t control what happens any more than you can.

Stay well.

PRIDE’S CHILDREN Table of Contents

~ ~ ~

PRIDE’S CHILDREN, Chapter 20, Scene 1  [Kary]

Thanks to Quozio for the quote software.


Copyright by Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt 2013-2015.

4 thoughts on “Added PRIDE’S CHILDREN – Chapter 20, Scene 2

  1. naleta

    Do be careful of your health. My husband and I went through a bout of the stomach flu that’s going around our area. Vomiting and diahrrhea for a couple of days, and another couple of days recovery. We’re both back to ‘normal’ now, but it wasn’t fun at all.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

      Thanks for your concern, Naleta – I hope you and hubby are fully recovered. MIne came down with a cold, probably from our daughter, but both got over it in a couple of days, much faster than usual.

      I do the best I can; I am one of those people who are always tired because their immune system is always ON (swollen neck glands and other symptoms of infection), but it does have the advantage that I USUALLY don’t pick up colds. Everyone else around me who coughed for two months had something acute and nasty first – I had a day of feeling ‘not well’ instead. The coughing was bad enough – I was glad I didn’t get really sick first.

      Stay well – winter is sure to be over soon (we just got about 4-6 inches of new snow, from the cap on the mailbox).

      Like

      Reply
  2. juliabarrett

    Yes, words do have a mind of their own. Drive carefully. March came in like a lamb out here – a thunderstorm but it was a piddly thunderstorm.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

      I don’t know why I should expect any different – I have been writing toward this denouement (and the ones to Books 2 and 3) for fifteen years.

      It’s just that you want it to be as good as it can be – and perfection isn’t attainable. There’s something of predestination about it.

      And I’m not looking forward to the nitpicking next bit – I have a long list of nits, and I’m sure there will be more.

      Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Comments welcome and valued. Thanks!

