PRIDE’S CHILDREN is live on Amazon

WE HAVE LAUNCHED, PRIDE’S CHILDREN AND I

This is the post I’ve been waiting fifteen years to write.

October 29, 2015 at 1:19 AM
I’m in shock – it went from Pending to Publishing in ten minutes, and I have my ASIN: B017AZLTLG (this is how you know you have the genuine article; if pirates steal a book and put it up, it will not have the same ASIN – just sayin’.)

I also now know why people sit there and watch their Dashboards. It is hypnotic.

October 29, 2015 at 2:32 AM
I bought the first copy – and got it free. Good omen – we had a credit of 0.99.

MARKETING PLAN: 0.99 UNTIL SATURDAY NIGHT, then 8.99 AND KU.

Other than some basic marketing bits (like letting everyone in the whole world know), I will now be sedate, take myself to bed, and get some sleep. It has been a long hard couple of days trying to make my brain wrap itself around arcane Scrivener bits until the formatted ebook looked the way I wanted it to.

KU (Kindle Unlimited) is like Netflix for reading. I believe it is 9.99 for all you can read (of the books enrolled – lots); they may have a month’s free trial, too. It’s a great deal if you like long, expensive books.

I still have to figure out how to make an image on my blog clickable, but the caption is attached to the book page.

NEW PRIDESCHILDREN.COM site

I set this blog/site up until I can regain complete control of my actual domain (long story). If you want to be informed when Book 2 is available, or when the Kindle Countdown Deal (which will have a day or two at 0.99, and happen in about a month) for Book 1 is live, drop by the new site, and Follow.

It will just be for the books, and I hope to put up more content just about the story.

I’ll keep working on it until it’s at least a solid small site, so be prepared for a few orange traffic cones.

FORMATTING WORKED

I’m SO happy I did the one-click Scrivener setup – it allowed me to make changes, and immediately see how they would translate – and, believe me, today I needed all the help I could get.

In addition, I did the CSS work to get my RIGHT INDENTS! This I will only have to do this once (took me less than an hour because I had done shorter versions before – and my method still worked – phew!). If I have to make changes to the text, they would have to be pretty major for me to have to change the CSS files – and then would only be for the chapters which got the changes. So that’s set up – and Book 2 should be able to sail right through the formatting step.

NOW WHAT? Writing, naturally.

Now I just have to take the rough draft to something approaching writing.

A month or so on catching up on household To Do list items (there are, ahem, DUST bunnies from The Night of the Lepus).

And getting the books’ calendar up to date, and hoping against hope the story is still there, and making sure that things like character description stay the same… You know, work.

I’m so EXCITED – I wrote in my notes that now I know why people sit and watch their Amazon Dashboards and hit Refresh repeatedly. It’s addictive.

Thanks for your support, my dearest friends.

What say you?

 

22 thoughts on “PRIDE’S CHILDREN is live on Amazon

  1. Pingback: Pride’s Children, Book 1 | Lily White LeFevre

    1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

      If you Follow my new site, prideschildren.wordpress.com, you’ll be notified when I run the Kindle Countdown Deal in about a month (details still hazy), and you can get it then.

      If you’d rather have it now, I can send you an electronic ARC.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

      I know I started a reply – can’t find it – thanks so much! [bow]

      I thought clicking upload would be the end of it – instead I don’t dare count the emails and comments I’ve made over the past two days.

      It is wonderful – and much appreciated.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

      It has been a hugely interesting day. I’ve spent a lot of it thanking people whom I love and who have kept the chart jumping.

      A few more days – then up to final price, and hope people read, and some are inclined to write reviews. After that, back to writing, because that is the steady satisfaction.

      I’m too tired – starting to make mistakes – so I’m not trying anything useful until I’ve had sleep.

      I had no idea where to look for sales data, but figured it out. Addictive, of course.

      And I was very pleased when the Look Inside feature showed up – and looked exactly like it does on my ereaders. No margin problems, or indent problems, and only a few pages in the front have pre-story stuff (I put everything else in the back), so you get right to it. And I didn’t have to do ANYTHING to get that. Phew.

      Like

      Reply
        1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

          I KNOW – yesterday was crazy. It’s down into the #12Ks now, but I kept making screen shots (like you read OTHER people do).

          We’ll see – not in my hands any more. I put it in Select, and someone already got it from KU.

          As I said, mind-boggling.

          It’s a long read – we’ll see what happens after that.

          Thanks for stopping by!

          Like

  2. The DC

    Bought my copy and downloaded to 1 of the Kindles 😀 It might be a few days before I can tear into/get to reading it. Have a close aunt who was pronounced brain dead and moved into a hospice this morning (prayer appreciated,my friend). I expect the next several days will be pretty busy and unpleasant,but I’m anxious to read it soon. Congratulations,my good friend,very happy for and proud of you 😀

    Like

    Reply
  3. naleta

    I’ll get it next payday. 🙂 It’s not like I don’t have a lot of other things to read, lol.

    It’s been a long journey for you, but you made it! Enjoy the look back at how far you’ve come, and don’t let the view of the mountains ahead get you down. {{{HUG}}}

    Like

    Reply

Comments welcome and valued. Thanks!

