Writing new content takes back seat to chores

Pride's Children business card 1

EVERYTHING TAKES MORE TIME THAN YOU THINK AND MUST BE DONE NOW

I am acutely conscious that I am not producing blog content – or updating the look of the blogs – very frequently.

I won’t say I’m sorry – that is lame. Or I am, but in a vague background way moderated by PRIORITIES.

The current priority? Getting the POD out of my new process (which involves going from Scrivener, to Word, to a pdf, to CreateSpace – with a stop at Pixelmator for a full front-and-back cover).

Why? Because then I will have some time during which I hope a proof copy will be winging its way to me – time I can use to fill some of the other holes in the process.

Jumping the priority queue: new business cards?

Today I will see someone who MAY be interested – and all of a sudden I realized I have nothing to leave with him. My old business cards are not suitable AND I’m out of them.

I figured if I’m going to go to the trouble of printing new ones, I should take a few minutes (I can hear the laughing starting up already – cut it out!) and make a new one.

After all, how hard can it be?

Whip out Pixelmator. Oops. Not sure I remember how to do this.

Whip out Word – the file where I have the old ones.

Spend a frustrating hour remembering my Pixelmator tools, and fighting against the fact that what I know about HOW to do things is woefully and intrinsically opposite to what graphic artists live with daily (don’t get me started on how masks work – backward and counterintuitive).

I manage to start regaining control when the file I change finally settles down at the size of a standard business card – 3.5 x 2 inches. The trick: store the canvas size you set FIRST – otherwise it assumes what you’re pasting in – the image of the book cover which will be a small part of the finished product – is the size you want, and your business card is now about an inch tall – and proportionately wide.

I won’t bore you with the details – it wasn’t really hard, just counterintuitive because computers do what you tell them to do, not what you WANT them to do.

It’s done.

Now I just have to remember my instructions to myself about where to cut these babies out of the page – so the finished product looks properly centered.

And then get back to whatever was next in the queue before this little project took over.

Next? Oh, yes.

Nap! And lunch! And then the appointment for which I did this.

You are now updated. I’m not lazy – just tired and massively overwhelmed by the delightful but unending learning opportunities that present themselves.

You?

16 thoughts on “Writing new content takes back seat to chores

  1. Janna G. Noelle

    I too need business cards. I was also supposed to build a screen for my bedroom window following my household move back in MAY. But I’m not releasing any books anytime soon, and it’s wintertime here now so the window is shut up tight. I’m gonna keep on procrastinating, I think. Good luck with your chores!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

      The cards are printed on my own printer – I have not reached the point where I order real ones, but it’s a nice color laser printer, and I use the heaviest paper/cover that will go through it (we used a lot of it for science fair projects when I homeschooled, and I have TONS of it left).

      Then I use my paper cutter – back from the same days – and I have a bunch of ten on a page. For all I need, that’s plenty.

      Hope to need the real kind some day.

      Like

      Reply
      1. donnainthesouth

        hm, guess we didn’t use our printer enough for science fair projects when we homeschooled; just got those trifold boards and still did by hand but then we didn’t do many, if any, high school level ones either

        Like

        Reply
        1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

          WE USED our stuff – three kids, all the way through highschool – the last kid, my daughter, went to the International Science Fair one year. She was the runner-up, and the winner decided to go to here prom instead (there was always a conflict). I went with her – it was great fun, though a bit overwhelming. Albuquerque.

          Like

        2. donnainthesouth

          oh, Alicia, you sound upset – glad you did; mine just weren’t that into all that – did have a young man from here though that also went to the ISF the year it was in Seattle and won and got bit by the bug, wound up moving out there going to work for Microsoft – but love, in theory, Albuquerque, hub spent a week out there, want to go myself – but had almost forgotten about it, what with son going to Cali

          Liked by 1 person

  2. donnainthesouth

    And I, too, need new business cards!
    and a root canal put off because not having taken care of that little visit to the dentist, just as your now 3 wk. old baby is dying on you is especially no fun…

    Like

    Reply
      1. donnainthesouth

        yea, that was our disaster for dil not having gone to the dentist sooner, so had managed to get her in – that particular day only – for an emergency root canal – and that particular day our 3 wk. old decided to go into that mode, so….what do ya do? well, we’d called the doc – rather than the ambulance – decided to go onto the dentist while waiting for return call – bad move? but then so would be a mom in er mode with a root canal mode toothache, too, right? – then doc calls while at dentist – almost left, but mom decided to go ahead and stay – I took little one to the doc – so glad for the nurse, got us right in and so glad office was right across the street from er, where she called to tell them we were coming and sent us right over – does that work better than just deciding to go on your own? not sure had yet realized how often docs do that these days…

        Like

        Reply
  3. J.M. Ney-Grimm

    LOL!

    I was just realizing that I also need new business cards showcasing my upcoming releases. 😀 They will have to wait until AFTER said release. Too busy with pre-release chores right now.

    Like

    Reply
  4. The DC

    LOL,my friend…you’ve updated yours well since I have mine,you’re fine,enjoy all the op’s in front of you,we’re still reading ^_^

    Like

    Reply
    1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

      The chores are interesting; no doubt about that. And I don’t mind doing them – unless they get in the way of something else I’d rather do more.

      The list is long and neglected. I scheduled the car I depend on for a checkup tomorrow – which requires taking Liz there, making sure they do a long list of minor but important things, and then picking her up – two outings and a phone call. Way out of my comfort zone, but so is having your car die under your daughter on a road trip far from home. Same as having a toothache hit you hard because you haven’t taken care of that little visit to the dentist.

      Naptime now – paperwork + a doctor’s visit – and I need actual sleep.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Comments welcome and valued. Thanks!

