Awesome BookRiot post: promoting a book you loved

If you love a bookI’M GOING TO DO AS MANY OF THESE AS I CAN

Couldn’t pass up spreading this link – separating the good books from the bad is what READERS do; writers are too close to them!

BookRiot has a splendid list of things you can do if you like a book.

I already got a few – such as taking a copy or two to the library (love the library and librarians of the Hamilton Public Library, Hamilton, NJ).

But many of these are things I simply don’t have enough energy to do (while the extremely slow fogged brain refuses to do the last couple of steps so I can start the actual revising of Book 2).

Help yourself to any ideas that appeal to you – and bookmark the post. Me, I’m copying it to a safe place.

I’ve always wanted to try leaving MY book in a public place

With instructions to pass it on and an email address where people can write to the author. As soon as I get my act together, I will. It just sounds like such fun.

I MIGHT wait until the snow melts.

13 thoughts on “Awesome BookRiot post: promoting a book you loved

  1. denisebaer

    Hello Alicia, Thanks for sharing the link. It’s always good to keep promotion ideas. Some ideas work for some and not for others, which is why having a long list gives you lots of options. I thought I’d share a list of unique promotion ideas. Maybe one will sound good to you.

    – You can create a book sell sheet, whatever size you want, put a picture of your cover and an excerpt from the novel, along with pertinent information, cost, website, genre, etc. Print some and leave them at coffee shops, restaurants, libraries, etc.
    – If you have a good rapport with a doctor’s office, ask if you could provide a waiting room copy of your book.
    – Put a bird house in your front yard with a sign, “Honor system: Free books, feel free to read, return, and add.” You can put a few books in it along with yours.
    – Create a book app for your book(s) and send out to family, friends, post on Facebook, etc. I think this site helps you make one – http://www.appmakr.com/
    – Make a youtube video of you reading parts of your book with a link to where your book can be purchased.
    – Do a Hangouts meeting for readers interested in your book, and then offer a copy for the first person who responds, or whatever way you want to do it.
    – Create a Storyboard on Pinterest. This is a link to mine to give you an idea – https://de.pinterest.com/denisebaer7/net-switch-storyboard/ I haven’t done one for my second book.
    – Have readers take pictures of them reading your book and post on Pinterest.

    Have a great day!
    Denise

    Like

    Reply
    1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

      Thanks, Denise, and welcome.

      All great ideas. Readers can do them, too.

      Unfortunately, for me, most of them are complete outside my energy capabilities. I have to be a total miser with my energy – or I get absolutely no writing done.

      A brief illness this past week cost me 7 writing days so far, and means I will have to go back to square one to load everything back in my brain before I can even get to revising the rough draft of Book 2.

      I hope for miracles; and I’m prepared to wait for the extremely slow spread of word of mouth. Today, after waiting WEEKS, I got another review!

      My time and limited energy have to go where they will produce the next book. Everything else must wait.

      It’s a good thing I have ultimate faith in the outcome – world domination. Hehe.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. J.M. Ney-Grimm

      There’s a Little Free Library near the entrance to my kids’ middle school. I’m planning on putting a few of my books there. 😀 (I keep forgetting about it, though. C’mon, J.M.! Get with it!)

      Like

      Reply
      1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

        Well, you have to put physical books out – but you might find nice local fans. It’s a bunch of people you might not reach any other way, and if they’re intrigued enough by the cover (and yours are gorgeous), then you might get a reader.

        Have you thought of registering them at BookCrossing.com TOO? Then you might be able to see where they went.

        As soon as I feel up to it, I will post about the BC thing.

        Like

        Reply
        1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

          Very soon – pesky personal problem. This week for sure – if I’d felt at all well this past week, it would be up there. No biggie, but irritating. It wasn’t that hard, except I ended up doing the handwritten version.

          The registration and acquiring the BCID went smoothly.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. naleta

    Leaving a book in a public place reminded me of BookCrossing.com. I’ve been a member there for several years. Their slogan is Free your Books! It’s been a while since I did that. I’ll have to start up again. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Holly Jahangiri

      Same here!! It’s been so long since I did this, I wasn’t sure if they were still active – they are!! Then I tried to log in, and it’s been so long since I did this, there was an old (now defunct) email address attached to my account – it predated my being a published author of books! They were kind enough to verify and give me back my name and my old account (I still remembered the password, but not the full email address or username!) Their support person was awesome.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

        Every single good idea out there has the same problem: money. They start by doing something awesome because it CAN be done, then they have a lot of people sign up when it’s free, and then they have to figure out how to monetize the concept, and half their people leave if they do it wrong.

        Those young software engineers have an interesting life – but they, too, have to figure out what to do with themselves when eating pizza and living in a loft with twenty others is no longer quite the fun it was.

        And there’s always a new crop coming along, and people who will steal an idea and improve on it.

        Add to that the cost of equipment and software…

        The age-old problem of innovation.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

Comments welcome and valued. Thanks!

