New post over at Pride’s Children

QUICK UPDATE:

I put stuff that is more book-related on the other site – and if you have been supportive lately – for which I thank you – there is a list of the things that keep me going over there.

It’s constantly amazing how much effort it takes to get a book launch off the ground, but it’s a very big world, and I haven’t wanted to play some of the cards I have.

I would always rather books made it on their own merit, but there is that pesky bit about people even hearing that it exists, and with 7 billion people on the planet – and it seems 7 million other books competing for attention – maybe a little noise has to be made.

I’m just reading, studying, and searching for the RIGHT noise.

There are cards which are hard to un-play, information about an author which, though relevant, makes you think of the author and not the book, so I’m holding onto some of those.

All writers (okay, most – those generalizations are always wrong. Hehe.) want to be read, and read widely. I’m no different.

Even ‘merit’ is a slippery concept. You are advised all around to ‘write a good book’ and ‘know your audience.’ Hard to do when you don’t write in a particular genre, and are at the mainstream/commercial end of the literary spectrum (i.e., well written, I hope, but not high-falutin’).

IN ANY CASE – I’m always glad to have y’all talking back to me.

If you write literary/commercial/mainstream, know where the audience is, and how to interest them, PLEASE let me know. I’ll make you cupcakes or something.

Comments welcome and valued. Thanks!

