Social Security and disability retrials in Kentucky

If you’ve been following this blog for a while, you know that I have occasionally boosted posts from an online friend about the almost 1500 cases the SSA is re-trying in Kentucky – because the lawyer who won disability for these clients has turned out to be not what he should have been.

The SSA is blaming the legitimately disabled clients – for their poor choice of lawyer (Eric Conn) YEARS ago.

Well, there may be hope on the horizon – a judge in one of the cases has stated:

Federal Judge Thapar just entered an order declaring that the SSA has treated Conn’s former clients worse than Al QAEDA members in ruling that the ongoing hearings are unconstitutional!

Visit DC’s site to see the links and more information, but I would like to pray that this is the break the disabled clients need to get through some of the unbelievable machinations (What is there to hide? is my question) of the SSA.

If you have the stomach for it, read more of the posts on the site, boosted from Ned Pillendorf’s site (he’s the lawyer coordinating the efforts to defend all these folk).


I am no longer subject to the whims of the SSA, as I am ‘retired,’ but found it incredibly frustrating myself (was turned down the first two times, and got very little retroactive disability income when it was finally granted) to deal with them.

And I never did manage to find a way wherein a disabled person can publish (assuming they’re up to writing) – knowing what I now know about how erratic writing income can be – because the SSA can only deal with X hours per week at Y dollars as being a source of income for a disabled person. I’d give you more details, but it is incredibly short-sighted and BORING, and I wasn’t able for years to get them to look at how writing income would affect disability income.

Also fortunately for me, I had nothing publishable until well after I was ‘retired,’ so it didn’t matter to me (I didn’t withhold Pride’s Children – it took me that long to finish it) that they couldn’t handle it, but young disabled writers would be destroyed by the rules.

This effectively silences them – unless they write for free.


Remember – disability and illness can happen (and are five times more likely than death) to anyone in the years before retirement. This affects all of us, especially artists and writers, and we don’t even know about it until it is too late.

5 thoughts on “Social Security and disability retrials in Kentucky

  1. The DC

    Thank you much for sharing this, my good friend 🙂 One thing of note, while the lawyer in question (Conn) who caused all of the problems (or at least, what the SSA is using for an excuse here) IS in Kentucky–as are many of those affected–not all of us are. There are folks from (my guestimated count based on posts on Ned’s FB page) as many as 6 states. I’m in Tennessee, was in Virginia when I hired that man, and have never lived in Kentucky personally.

    One of the things that’s flustered my gut so much from the beginning of this is, Conn was ON THE LIST of lawyers that was given to each of us from the SSA of lawyers to hire (I hired him because he was closest to where I was living in Virginia),LOL!

    Since I made that last update/post, I’ve spoken with my own lawyer (who lovingly fought/is fighting my case pro-bono, BTW). As of today, he doesn’t know what Judge Thapar’s ruling means to the rest of us (not the 7 mentioned specifically in that case, but those are also part of the 1,500 or so caught up in it together). He said to call him back tomorrow afternoon and hopefully he will have more info by then. Tomorrow is also my awesome Wife and my 24th Anniversary…hearing that this nightmare is over would be the greatest of gifts, LOL 😛

    Like

    Reply
    1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

      Keep me updated. And please correct my mistakes – which is why I send them to your site.

      I’m not sure I knew all these details – but they only add to the unbelievability of the whole thing.

      The SSA handed out his name – and refuses to take responsibility for that. Good one.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Comments welcome and valued. Thanks!

