Celebrate May 12 International ME/CFS AWARENESS Day

Landscape with sea and mountains; Text: I may never see this in person, because I can't spare the energy. Alicia Butcher EhrhardtWITH A BOOST IN EMPATHY

I wasn’t going to do a post today – what’s the point of celebrating ANOTHER year passing with no real progress?

Mostly I keep quietly to myself, don’t leave home, try to write. Try mainly not to be a bigger burden to my family than I already am, by not being able to carry my share of the normal load of the wife and mother and daughter. I lost the ability to carry the load of the working person so long ago that it seems fictional.

But we never live only for ourselves

And even if I’m already too old to take advantage of the cure and treatment when they come – because they WILL come – I’m here to do the one thing I can still do for others: raise awareness. Raise empathy, sympathy, understanding.

Make the world a slightly better place by pointing out such obvious things as that the person who parked in the handicapped spot MAY have an invisible disability – and your mind should go there FIRST before judging, because it gets so awfully exhausting to be judged able-bodied when you know that after a short while in that store you will barely be able to make it home. And you usually don’t even go.

Fiction is one of the BEST ways to get through the barriers we set up to protect our hearts and minds

If not THE best.

Think of what Black Beauty, On The Beach, Uncle Tom’s Cabin – and countless novels through the ages that have not only SHOWN it like it IS, but have made the reading of that story so compelling that the reader becomes educated while being entertained. And I use ‘entertained’ here in the sense of the reader’s attention staying with the story until the end, even far into the night.

After she FINISHED, one of my reviewers said,

I honestly don’t know how to explain the grip this book had on me from the first. I couldn’t stop reading it, and I wanted it never to end.

When I mentioned on Goodreads that I don’t have many borrows from Kindle Unlimited (KU), so I sometimes get the pleasure of watching Pride’s Children be read in a single day, 0-984 KENP*, my reader identified herself, and said,

“Hi Alicia, I think that would have been me, because that’s exactly what I did yesterday.

You write superbly, and while I appreciate you’ll have readers hungry for more, the care and attention to detail you’ve lavished on Pride’s Children makes me willing not to harangue you about the next book. I was a bit concerned about the depth of emotion experienced by your reviewers – I tend to keep my reading on the light side these days – but I needed something absorbing yesterday and Pride’s Children delivered in spades.”

FICTION has that CAPACITY, of engaging deeply and not letting go until the author is finished with you.

And reading is different. It’s really not the same as binge watching House of Cards. You can distance yourself from HoC. You don’t become Francis Underwood (I hope).

Things you can do – free or low cost – to painlessly develop empathy:

So this is, after all the above, my Call to Action for May 12, International ME/CFS Awareness Day:

One of the things you cannot avoid if you read Pride’s Children is becoming sensitized to the plight of millions worldwide who are victims of ME/CFS. Because you live, for a short while, with what they cannot escape. (PS It’s also an epic love story)

In honor of developing that empathy, it’s a good day/month to:

  • Ask me for an electronic review copy (review optional)
  • Read the beginning sample on GoodReads or on Amazon
  • Read the copy you already have and were meaning to one day
  • Read some reviews and ask yourself if it’s your kind of book
  • Write the review you had toyed with the idea of writing
  • Buy a copy on Amazon in ebook or print
  • Lend a friend your copy, or recommend they get one
  • Borrow Pride’s Children from KU

But be aware it may change you.


I’d love to hear what you do.


*KENP = Kindle Enhanced Normalized Pages (the way Amazon counts ebook pages, which have no actual size)

4 thoughts on “Celebrate May 12 International ME/CFS AWARENESS Day

  1. lgould171784

    I hope you liked my review of Pride’s Children on Goodreads.

    Regarding House of Cards, the problem is that I would much prefer Frank Underwood as president to what we have now.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt Post author

      I can’t NOT write – an occupational hazard.

      What we go through is not normal; people have to know. Most of the people with CFS I know are heroic. They are not whiners. They are coping with intense pain, and a complete loss of control of what most people take for granted in their lives.

      I wish there were a better use for this effort than just keeping us alive – it seems like such a waste, comparable to what AIDS or Ebola have wasted.

      Like

      Reply

Comments welcome and valued. Thanks!

