Guest post: patience, boredom, and personal choice in dealing with them

Woman floating in turquoise water. Text: Attitude makes all the differenceWE MAY BE ABLE TO CHOOSE HOW TO RESPOND

Even when we don’t get to choose what happens.

My friend Gay Lyon responded thoughtfully to my whines about patience and boredom, and has kindly allowed me to share her words.

Gay, you’ve thought so much out. I haven’t gone there, because this is actually the first time in which it has hit me like this. I was always able to try to do something, and then that something would wipe me out, and I’d be too exhausted to do something for a while. Repeat.


Gay Lyon on Boredom, Patience, and how she deals with them – better than I do

Maybe there are people who are naturally patient, but I have my doubts. I’m inclined to believe that patience is developed by having no choice. I’ve spent a lot of time the past several years waiting to recover from a crash similar to yours, for days, weeks, months, at a time. I’m on month 5 of this current one. I’ve learned a certain amount of patience, because there’s not a darned thing I can do to hurry it along, and fretting only prolongs it.

In terms of boredom, it’s a question of what to do when you can’t do anything, isn’t it? I can tell you some of the things I do, but I don’t know that you’ll like it, because if anyone had said anything similar to me before I was forced to come up with them myself, I would have thought it sounded preachy and would have wanted to slap them.

My whole life before becoming sick was about DOing. Prolonged periods of having both brain and body conked out have forced me to reflect on simply BEing. Who am I, what am I, if I am not defined by what I do? Do I, does any human being, have any intrinsic worth outside of what we do? Are there ways in which a life which isn’t a life of service can have value? I have no answers to offer, but thinking about it is a way to occupy yourself when you are lying there staring at the ceiling.

Give thanks for boredom, because when I’m feeling really, really sick, I’m not bored, I’m just miserable. Boredom is a sign I’m starting to feel better.

I have to admit, I’m not often bored anymore. I was bored a lot more the first few years I was sick. Most of the time now, I’m too busy to be bored. Not because I do so much, but because I do everything so slowly that getting through the activities of daily living doesn’t leave a lot of time left over.

Another thing which I do when I can’t do anything else is pay attention. Be very observant. Look out the window. Really look. Look at the leaves on that tree; how many colors are there on one leaf? What shape is it? In what pattern do they grow on the branches? Is the top side different from the bottom? Can you see the veining? Applying that level of observation to everything around you fills up a lot of time.

And once you have observed it, as a writer, how would you describe it? Just thinking about how you would put it into words can help hone your craft.

You can apply the same type of observation to your internal self, too. For instance, what is this experience you identify as “boredom”? How does it actually feel? Is there a physical sensation connected to it? Where does it come from? Do you attach a positive or negative value to it, and if so, is that valid?

It’s a cliché to say that although you may not be able change your circumstances, you can change how you react to them. But I believe it’s true that misery comes from the longing for things to be other than what they are. I try to overcome that by actively looking for what’s good (the bright side, if you will) in my situation; things I can be thankful for. The bleaker your current situation, the more challenging that effort becomes.

My whole life, one of my greatest joys has been learning new things. So I ask myself, what can I learn from this? Or what have I already learned, without noticing it?

I hope your time having to rest both your body and your brain is short enough that your question becomes moot. But if not, maybe these thoughts will give you something to do in the meantime.


I’m trying, Gay. It does not come naturally.

5 thoughts on “Guest post: patience, boredom, and personal choice in dealing with them

  1. marianallen

    Alicia, thank you SO MUCH for this guest post from Gay! It’s packed with good advice. I have to do something similar when depression overpowers my medication.

    Gay, I never thought of the techniques being useful during physical illness, but I can see how it can be. In fact, now that I think about it, I remember reading someone’s saying he was never bored at parties because, if he found himself feeling bored, he started thinking about why the person he was with bored him and describing in his mind how very boring they were, and he wasn’t bored anymore. Still, you brought it all together and into focus.

    Thank you both!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Gay

      I’m filled with admiration, Marian. I’ve lived with depression, and I think this sort of technique would be much more difficult to use when you’re depressed than when your illness is physical. When you’re depressed, it’s so difficult to find the motivation to try to lift yourself up. And even if you have the motivation, it’s difficult to find a bright side or to feel thankfulness, because depression robs you of the ability to feel such things. It’s like trying to see through a dark gray fog. I think it must take great strength and discipline to manage to use techniques like this when it’s your managing tools that are malfunctioning. When I’m depressed, I figure I’m doing well to simply hang on and endure, taking it on faith that it’s only a temporary condition. My hat’s off to you.

      The idea of using this to avoid boredom when listening to a boring person gave me a chuckle.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

Comments welcome and valued. Thanks!

